Call for Abstracts

The Deadline for Submitting Your Abstract has been extended to February 8, 2019 in light of recent school closures due to inclement weather.


Type of Abstract Submissions:

Authors may select to present topic as a paper session, poster presentation, workshop, or symposium (See descriptions below). Authors may elect to submit one or more abstract. Authors may also elect to have their submission(s) considered for an alternate presentation format (e.g., poster).

Paper Sessions will be comprised of 3-4 presenters grouped thematically by abstract reviewers during an allotted time of 75 minutes. Each presenter will have 12-15 minutes for each presentation. Each session will have a moderator to assist with time keeping and facilitate discussion among participants.

Poster Presentations will occur in a larger room during an allotted time of 60 minutes. Posters are detailed displays that summarize completed work using visuals. Presenters can hang their posters before lunch on Friday and are required to be at their poster board during the designated session on Friday afternoon to facilitate one-on-one interaction. Presenters will be assigned a number and should be prepared to hang their poster on a portable wall within a 36 inch x 48 inch space.

Workshop Sessions will be allotted 75 minutes and highlight best practices using an interactive format. Description of demonstrated or effective strategies and programs are encouraged. Workshops should include 3-5 objectives that will describe skills and knowledge addressed.

Symposium Sessions will be allotted 75 minutes and consist of 3-4 speakers on one topic. Proposals should include a symposium theme and abstracts for each paper within the symposia.

Student Awards

Students whose abstracts are accepted for an oral presentation or poster presentation are eligible to submit a paper for consideration for a student award that includes a cash prize. Student paper award categories include:

  • Jerome Kaplan Award for best graduate student paper, honoring Dr. Kaplan’s more than 50 years as a major leader in gerontology at the local, state, national, and international levels.
  • The Arnedia Smith Award for best undergraduate student paper, honoring Professor Smith’s work at Edison State Community College, her strong dedication to gerontology education, and her leadership in the former Ohio Network of Educational Consultants in Aging. (ONECA).
  • Outstanding Student Paper to the conference theme, Growth and Opportunities.

Student Award submissions are due no later than March 7, 2019.

For questions or more information, contact Amy Roberts, OAGE Award Chair via email

Submit your abstract online today!

44th Annual OAGE Conference


See Past Winners