Award Nominations

As a membership-based organization, OAGE involves educators, researchers, practitioners and students in Ohio. The primary goal is to provide a forum for gerontological education and to advance research and practice in the field of aging. OAGE accepts nominations of individuals in Ohio to be recognized for their contributions in the areas of education, research, and practice. For more information, click on the links below. Any OAGE member or student member can submit a nomination!

The 2022 deadline for award submissions is November 18, 2022.

Aging and Innovation Student Award

This award aims to highlight innovative products, services, programs, technologies, and designs that promote the well-being and quality of life of older persons. Submissions may span from aspects of health to socialization to universal design to learning in later adulthood.

read more

Educator of the Year

The OAGE Educator Award recognizes individuals in Ohio’s educational institutions at any level and/or from Ohio’s aging network that have either used educational programs to improve services to older adults in Ohio or advanced gerontological education and training for students and practitioners. Nomination Deadline is Friday, November 18, 2022

read more

Practitioner of the Year

Recognizes individuals and organizations that either have improved services to older adults through research and evaluation or have developed noteworthy partnerships with institutions of higher learning (e.g., universities, community colleges, technical schools) for the betterment of Ohio’s elders. Nomination Deadline is Friday, November 18, 2022

read more

Researcher of the Year

The OAGE Researcher Award recognizes individuals in Ohio’s aging network whose research has advanced knowledge in gerontology and/or related disciplines that have improved services for older adults, advanced knowledge of aging process, or supported the expansion of research in the aging field in Ohio or nationally. Nomination Deadline is Friday, November 18, 2022

read more

Student Awards

Students whose abstracts are accepted for presentation are eligible for cash awards given for the outstanding student paper in each of the following categories: Jerome Kaplan Award for Best Graduate Student Paper, The Arnedia Smith Award for Best Undergraduate Student Paper, and Best Conference Theme.

read more